Poem: coveting the past

Too much time to kill
Too many memories to kick to the curb
As if throwing them away will make them disappear,
Make my heart clear
Of the burden of being alone.

You gave the gift of being loved and loving,
But coveting the past has left me
Wandering an empty street
Without fear of getting hit by a car,
But without a chance of catching a ride and going far
Away from what I remember,
A new land, a new chance,
And new days without the trance
Of hope that you left me in.

So what do I do with these thoughts
That refuse to be dropped?
What do I say when then loneliness
Doesn’t go away?
And I’m left with the memory of your arms around me.
The memory of us.
Together.

2 thoughts on “Poem: coveting the past

Leave a Reply

