Poem: An Alcoholic Honesty

Running away into a haze of
Alcohol-induced illustrious
Imagination,
I’m left with too many words
Dribbling out of my mouth,
As if honesty is a free
Commodity that leaves no one
Worse off,
The facade that too much bubbly
Brings.

And so I’m left in the morning
With ringing ears,
Pulling the veneers shut to
Block off the reality of
What happened the previous night,
A foggy impersonation of a memory,
All the words I should have left unsaid
Tumbling into view as I
Told my heart to you,
Under the haze of wandering hands,
Gleaming side-glanced eyes,
And an alcoholic honesty that
Leaves the morning a question
That more champagne cannot answer.

Leave a Reply

