Poem: The Last Touch of a First Love

The silent echo of my words hang in the air, 
An unfinished sentence completed only 
By the tears that will stain my sheets, 
And taint the memory of our nights together. 

I want you back, but I know I have to 
Let go, 
The greatest release that requires
Every ounce of my being to hold myself back
As your hand slips from mine, 
A whispered goodbye in between sad kisses 
Hoping for the past to come resurging, 
For us to last, 
For this good-bye to not be the last. 
For the cast to be removed and reveal, 
Something not broken, 
But mended. 

But I bit back my words and let your hand 
Slide away, the last touch of a first love. 

Leave a Reply

