Poem: Falling Alone

It’s been a long day
And all I want to do is fall into your arms
But for the first time,
I keep wondering,
Will they catch me?

Will you stave off the pain
Of disdain for our struggle
Of a relationship that once
Held more promise
Than an engagement ring?

That’s the thing,
For the first time,
This isn’t worth it. 
And I want to sprint
To the times when it was,
When everything was brilliant
And I didn’t feel like bawling at the sound
Of your name.

So, I must ask you,
Will you catch me when I fall?
I’ve fallen once,
But I’m afraid this time I’m falling
In the worst way possible
With no outreached arms.

Falling…
.
.
.
.
.
.

alone

Leave a Reply

