Poem: A Year In Hell

I spent a year in hell hiding from humanity,
From the types who lie to screw with my sanity,
And drive it to ruin.

So I took the liberty of bringing myself there
Before I could give them the satisfaction
Of my reaction and my demise.

A method of self-protection that
Broke every connection and contact
With those I once valued.

I spent a year in hell hiding from humanity,
From the types who lie to screw with my sanity,
And what did I gain?

I haven’t yet decided if the year
Was wasted or needed or
Equivalent to one too many beers

Alcohol could have saved me
And destroyed me but I ignored it
And I ran, I floored it.

You see, I spent a year in hell hiding from humanity,
From the types who lie to screw with my sanity,
To save myself.

Yet, somehow I ended up back here,
Not quite alone, not without fear
Of running away again.

Because I spent a year in hell hiding from humanity,
From the types who lie to screw with my sanity,
And it scared me more
Than I ever thought it could
And I don’t want to go back there again.

2 thoughts on “Poem: A Year In Hell

    1. A lot of false friendships (They were true on my part) that fell apart within the span of a week, a lack of caring on my part about a situation that I should’ve been very deeply invested in, failed relationships… ended in me shutting myself off from everyone because I was tired of getting hurt so gravely.

Leave a Reply

