Teenage Love (Part 2)

ImageI no longer have to bite my tongue, hide my feelings, wait for him to say those three words I’ve been anxious to hear since I knew back on New Year’s Eve. Laying in his arms that night, just looking up at him with the glow of the television outlining his eyes, I knew. Just from the way he held me, the way we worked, the way we knew each other’s every want, thought, move without speaking. It just seemed so perfect. It still does. 

A week and a half ago I wrote a post entitled “The Idea of Teenage Love”, and I feel as if this topic will continue recurring as I write, so bare with me. 

I, seventeen years old, do believe in teenage love, as can be discerned simply from the previous paragraph, but do I believe that it can last? Do I believe that it holds the same strength as that emotion coveted by adults? My answer is complicated. 

My parents met in high school, and, 26 years after their first date are still happily together after going through every unimaginable trauma a mariage can withstand. Perhaps they’re the exception and not the rule, but they set an example for me that once you fall for someone, if you try, you can stay with them, you can make things work, you can last a lifetime. So, by reason of my parents, yes, it can last, but it’s rare. 

Neither of my parents attended college, and in this day and age, the once exhilarating idea of escaping my boarding school for a larger, university environment now seems daunting and painful, a trial separation for what could be years if my boyfriend does not attend school in the same area. That is when I begin to question the long-lasting nature of teenage love, or of love in general. 

It takes two incredibly strong, incredibly devoted, and incredibly understanding people to make a long distance relationship last. It requires trust, more trust than emotion I would argue, and it requires the ability to commit. Could I do that? I don’t know if I’m strong enough, as strong as my love is. For a year, perhaps I could hold out. For more? That’s idealistic. And painful. I think in many cases, teenage love can last only if the two people stay near each other, a drive away. But that’s many cases, not all. Depending on the people, there remains a small chance that love found in during adolescence can stay for a lifetime. It’s entirely possible. 

In questioning whether or not the love is as strong as an adult’s, I would argue that it’s stronger. For, someone’s first love is their first love, leaving them innocent to relationships in general. It leaves them willing, open to new experiences that they will, perhaps, engage in together. It leaves them without the experience of love failing, of the other person giving through, of oneself making mistakes. It’s a clean beginning, and it will stay with you for the rest of your life. 

I’m sure more on this topic will be to come. Stay tuned.

Leave a Reply

